Nanyang Technological University Print Page

LKCMedicine House System


1 (Custom).jpg

LKCMedicine House System

We have created a comprehensive House System that allocates personal Tutors to individual students for guidance and mentorship, with the aim of giving students maximum opportunity to succeed in the MBBS programme. The LKCMedicine Houses are named after luminary figures that have impacted the history and profession of medicine, so as to inspire students in their chosen profession. Students are assigned to one of five Houses at the start of their studies and remain in the same House throughout their period of study at LKCMedicine. Students and their Tutors meet regularly as a group and also in one-on-one meetings.

House Tutors are LKCMedicine faculty committed to helping students succeed in the MBBS programme. Students can discuss their wellbeing and academic progress with House Tutors, while building relationships with fellow students in the same House. Tutors guide students to develop their understanding of higher education, the curriculum, the demands of the medical profession and the satisfaction of achieving their academic, personal and professional goals.

 House System Aims.jpg


Aims of House System 

  • Support, guide and mentor
  • Build identity and community
  • Facilitate relationships
  • Inspire ​


 LKCMedicine House Names

The LKCMedicine House System comprises five different Houses. To inspire the medical students for their chosen profession, the five LKCMedicine Houses are named after historical figures who have impacted the history and profession of Medicine. Click here to read more about each House.

Marie Curie (EDITED_NO WHITE) (Custom).png

Marie Curie House

Named after Marie Curie (1867-1934), a Polish-French physicist and chemist who was a pioneer in research on radioactivity and the use of radium for medical diagnostics. She was the first person honoured with two Nobel prizes in Physics in 1903 and Chemistry in 1911.

House Tutors: Dr Diana Barron (Senior), Asst Prof Gerald Tan, Dr Phua Dong Haur, Dr Yu Haiyang, Dr Lucy Rosby, Dr Terence Tan


Alexander Fleming (EDITED_NO WHITE) (Custom).png


Alexander Fleming House

Named after Sir Alexander Fleming FRSE FRS FRCS (1881-1955), a Scottish biologist, pharmacologist and brilliant researcher. He was known for the discovery of the enzyme lysozyme in 1923 and the antibiotic substance penicillin in 1928. He shared the 1945 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine with Howard Florey and Ernst Boris Chain.

House Tutors: Asst Prof Endean Tan (Senior), Dr Chen De Quan, Dr Canning Claire Ann, Dr Lambert Low Tchern Kuang, Dr Song Weihua, Dr Angela Tan

Lim Boon Keng (EDITED_NO WHITE) (Custom).png
Lim Boon Keng House

Named after Dr Lim Boon Keng (1869-1957), a Malayan medical doctor, scholar, educator, legislator, entrepreneur, community leader, social reformer and philanthropist. Dr Lim was a powerful orator and prolific writer who promoted education and social reforms in Singapore and China.
House Tutors: Asst Prof Lawrence Quek (Senior), Asst Prof Tom Carney, Assoc Prof Kevin Pethe, Dr Nelson Chua, Dr Vivian Siu, Dr Richard Goveas

William Osler (EDITED_NO WHITE) (Custom).png
William Osler House
Named after Sir William Osler, 1st Baronet (1849-1919), a Canadian pathologist, physician, educator, bibliophile, historian and author. He is known as the "father of modern medicine".
House Tutors: Dr Mary Wong (Senior), Dr Yung Chee Fu, Dr Lim Hock Kuang David, Dr Ho Eu Chin, Dr Ho New Fei, Dr Reddy Mogali



Wu Lien Teh (EDITED_NO WHITE) (Custom).png
Wu Lien-Teh House
Named after Dr Wu Lien-Teh (1879-1960), a Malayan physician who was an important figure in early 20th century epidemiology. He was nominated for the 1935 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for his work on the Pneumonic Plague.
House Tutors: Asst Prof Jeeve Kanagalingam (Senior), Dr Lee Oh Chong Leng, Dr Yvonne Tan, Dr Preman Rajalingam, Mrs Ramani Saravanan, Dr Erwin Chan



* Sketches by Ng Choon Yang, Bryan from our inaugural cohort of students